ARCOM (FR) welcomes two new Board members

posted on 10 February, 2023   (public)

Recent appointments reinforce ARCOM's expertise in the French audiovisual sector

Further to a Decree of 6 February 2023, two new members have recently joined the Board of ARCOM (“Autorité de régulation de la communication audiovisuelle et numérique”) for a (non-renewable) mandate of six years:

  • Bénédicte Lesage, with a 30-year background in independent production, succeeds Jean-François Mary. She was designated by the President of the National Assembly.
  • Antoine Boilley, with a 20-year career at France Televisions, is replacing Carole Bienaimé Besse. He was designated by the President of the Senate.

Both members went through a hearing procedure at the respective cultural committees of the parliamentary chambers prior to their appointment.

The other current members of ARCOM are:

  • Roch-Olivier Maistre, designated by the President of the French Republic in 2019 (President)
  • Hervé Godechot, designated by the Senate in 2019
  • Juliette Théry, designated by the Senate in 2021
  • Benoît Loutrel, designated by the National Assembly in 2021
  • Anne Grand d’Esnon, designated by the National Assembly in 2021
  • Laurence Pécaut-Rivolier, designated by the Cour de Cassation (judiciary) in 2022
  • Denis Rapone, designated by the Conseil d’Etat (judiciary) in 2022

More information on ARCOM's governance:

The deliberations of the Board of Arcom are prepared in the framework of eight permanent thematic Working groups. Each Board member chairs a Working group and acts as Vice-Chair of a second group.

The Arcom Board ("collège") is composed of nine members, appointed by thirds every two years by five different authorities (from the executive, legislative and judiciary) for a single, non-revocable term of six years.

Arcom's members cannot be dismissed. They exercise their functions on a full-time basis. Their functions are incompatible with any elective office.



Source: ARCOM website