New President for the Turkish regulator RTÜK

posted on 14 March, 2019   (public)

Ebubekir SAHIN succeeded Ilhan YERLIKAYA as of 23 January 2019

Following the recent resignation of Prof. İlhan Yerlikaya from his position of President of the Radio and Television Supreme Council of Turkey and as required per Article 36 of Law No. 6112 on the Establishment of Radio and Television Enterprises and Media Services, on 23 January 2019 the members of the Turkish Radio and Television Supreme Council (RTÜK) elected  Mr. Ebubekir Şahin for  President and Mr. Esat Çıplak for Vice-President.

  • Ebubekir ŞAHİN served as administrator in several public institutions such as the Ministry of Interior, the National Assembly, the Ministry of Justice, the Ministry of Industry and Trade, and the office iof the Prime Minister. He has been member of the RTÜK Council since 2017.
  • Esat ÇIPLAK has been occupying different positions such as Press and Public Relations Consultant of the Prime Minister and Associate President and President’s Consultant at the Telecommunications Council (Council of Information and Communications Technologies). He joined the RTÜK Council in 2009.

Background: The Turkish Supreme Council is composed of nine members who are elected by the Turkish Parliament among the nominees on the basis of the number of MPs of each political party. Their term is of six years. The members elect a President and a Vice-President from among themselves for terms of two years each.

Source: RTÜK Website