New board for the Greek media regulator (NCRT)

posted on 22 January, 2024   (public)

A new Board and a new President for the NCRT 

On 28 September 2023, Efterpi Koutzamani Drilia was appointed President of the National Council for Radio and Television for a six-year term.

Giannis Politis, journalist and political analyst, was appointed Vice-President, along with six new members.

The Board is now composed of 9 members, including the President and Vice-president. 


Board members

Dimitrios Stavropoulos, Eutychis Pallikaris, Spyridon Chrysofotis, Petros Triantafyllidis, Georgios Vlavianos, Ioannis Michelakis and Sokratis Tsichlias (appointed in 2021).

The President, Efterpi Koutzamani Drilia: 

Born and raised in the Greek island of Lesvos, she studied law at the School of Law of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki. She is the first Greek woman to enter the Prosecutor's Office of the judiciary.
She was then elected Deputy Prosecutor of the Areios Pagos (the Supreme Civil and Criminal Court of Greece). In the year 2013, she was appointed, by the Council of Ministers, Prosecutor of the Areios Pagos (General Prosecutor of Greece). She was the first woman to occupy this position. She left that post on June 30, 2016, due to her retirement.
In the year 2021, she was appointed by the Greek Parliament Vice-President of the Greek National Council for Radio and Television (NCRT), before being appointed President last September.


Source: the NCTR

Image: Efterpi Koutzamani Drilia