EU Commission establishes a high-level group on freedom and pluralism of the media

posted on 11 October, 2011   (public)

On 11 October 2011, the European Commission announced the creation of an independent high-level group which will draw up a report for the respect, protection, support and promotion of media freedom and pluralism in Europe.

The group convened by Neelie Kroes will be chaired by Prof. Vaira Vike-Freiberga (former President of Latvia) and is composed of Prof. Herta Däubler-Gmelin (former Minister of Justice of Germany), Prof. Luís Miguel Poiares Pessoa Maduro (European University Institute and former Advocate-General at the European Court of Justice) and Ben Hammersley, (digital pioneer & Editor at Large of a technology magazine). The European Commission will provide the secretariat of the Group.

The Commission invited the group to provide recommendations on various issues such as the limitations to media freedom arising from political interference or from private and commercial interference, media concentration, threats to the protection of journalists' rights, the role and independence of regulatory authorities, measures in favour of quality journalism, ethics and media accountability.

The findings of the Group will be made public.

Rapid Press Release

source:Rapid Press Release

See also