Jürgen Brautmeier, new Interim Chairperson of the EPRA

posted on 13 May, 2010   (public)

Jürgen Brautmeier Jürgen Brautmeier, the recently elected Director of the Northrhine-Wesphalian regulatory authority LfM (Landesanstalt für Medien NRW) has been appointed as the Interim Chairperson of the European Platform of regulatory Authorities (EPRA) on 13 May 2010. Dr. Brautmeier is no newcomer to the EPRA. A founding father of the platform, he had been re-elected as EPRA Senior Vice-Chairperson at the 29th EPRA Meeting in Tallinn, Estonia, on 8 May 2009 for a period of two years.

Jürgen Brautmeier replaces Dunja Mijatovic, who has been appointed as the Freedom of Media Representative of The Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) on 12 March, for the remainder of her term, due to end in spring 2011.

The remaining three members of the EPRA Executive Board, namely Mónica Ariño, Senior Manager, European Policy at Ofcom (UK), Jean-François Furnémont, Director of the Conseil Supérieur de l'audiovisuel (CSA) of the French Community of Belgium and Sebastiano Sortino, Commissioner of the Italian Autorità per le Garanzie nelle Comunicazioni - AGCOM, will also carry on with their mandate as EPRA Vice-Chairpersons until the next elections of the EPRA Executive Board which are scheduled for May 2011.