Search by country

Search by category

General information on EPRA

posted on 07 October, 2011 16:30 , last updated on 11 June, 2024 17:58   (public)


EPRA was set up in 1995 in response to the need for increased co-operation between European regulatory authorities. With almost 30 years of experience and a robust network of working-level contacts, EPRA is the oldest and largest network of broadcasting regulators and is an ideal setting for the exchange of information, cases and best practices between broadcasting regulators in Europe.

55 regulatory authorities from 47 countries are members of EPRA. The European Commission, the Council of Europe, the European Audiovisual Observatory and the Office of the OSCE Representative on Freedom of the Media are permanent Observers of the Platform.

EPRA holds two in-person meetings a year at the invitation of a regulatory authority - in addition to regularly convening online working groups. The next EPRA meeting will take place in Limassolin Cyprus, from 23 to 25 October 2024 at the kind invitation of the Cyprus Radio-Television Authority (CRTA).


EPRA has an informal character to encourage a frank and open exchange of views on issues pertaining to the application of media regulation. Its statutes expressly prohibit the adoption of common positions or declarations.

The EPRA Board Members are not representing their respective authorities but elected as individuals, they are not candidates but nominees and are performing their duties on a philanthropic basis.

The EPRA Secretariat is exclusively financed by members and hosted by the European Audiovisual Observatory, to ensure stability and independence, and to make use of natural synergies with the host and minimize administrative burdens and costs.

The EPRA Board Association, a non-profit association under Alsatian law, is in charge of administering and legally representing the EPRA in its daily business. The Association is registered at the Association Registry of the Court of First Instance in Strasbourg.



EPRA gathers all NRAs from the EU 27 and the UK, but notably also:

  • all NRAs from EFTA;
  • all NRAs from the EU candidate countries (AL, BA, GE, MD, ME, MK, RS, TR, UA);
  • NRAs from the potential EU candidates (XK);
  • NRAs from countries of the EU Eastern partnership (AM, AZ).

EPRA has regular contacts with other regional networks of NRAs in Europe, such as ERGA, MNRA, REFRAM, CERF etc. Through its location, the Secretariat has gained particular insight and knowledge about standards and policies of the Council of Europe in the field of media.


EPRA produces a wealth of comparative working documents, presentations and information on media regulation. EPRA Website is thus a unique source of non-academic knowledge on the implementation of media regulation in Europe and on regulatory authorities. Powerful search tools allow you to browse through the numerous working documents.

For a virtual tour of EPRA, see also our interactive presentation.

For further information, please contact:
Emmanuelle Machet, Secretary to EPRA