Macedonia completes analogue terrestrial switch off

posted on 20 June, 2013   (public)

As planned, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia switched off the analog terrestrial television signal on 31 May 2013, at midnight after a five-year period of simulcasting. The two regulatory authorities in charge, the Broadcasting Council and the Agency for Electronic Communication did not report any major technical problems.

22 out of the 27 EU Member States are switched over to digital, thus complying with the EU recommended 2012 deadline. Switch-off is also complete in Croatia, Switzerland and Norway. The two next countries in the finishing line are Poland and Bulgaria.

Source: SEE DigiTV website



See also